Category: Shakib

Bangladesh beat West Indies by Shakib’s Blast

Bangladesh vs West Indies World Cup 2019
Bangladesh vs West Indies World Cup 2019
Superb innings from Shakib Al Hasan

Thanks to the fantastic innings of Shakib Al Hasan (124 not out) and Liton Das (94 not out), Bangladesh defeated the West Indies by 7 wickets in the ICC World Cup 2019. Bangladesh has won against the West Indies for the first time in the World Cup. With this victory, Bangladesh’s team has reached the fifth spot in the points table. They got 5 points of five matches. In the tough competition, therefore, Bangladesh Beat West Indies By Shakib’s Blast.

In Tottenham, West Indies played the first inning and scored 321 runs after losing the toss. In reply, Bangladesh easily achieved this goal at the loss of three wickets in 41 overs.

Bangladesh made a strong start. Tamim Iqbal (48) and Soumya Sarkar (29), who came in to start the second inning, shared a 52-run partnership for the first wicket. This partnership was broken by Andre Russell in the ninth over. Tamim then led the inning with Shakib. Both were playing with care but in the 18th over, Tamim returned to the pavilion after being run out. Both added 69 runs for the second wicket.

After Tamim’s dismissal, veteran batsman Mushfiqur Rahim (1) did not bat well and became the victim of Thomas in the 19th over. From here Shakib and Liton took the front and returned after winning the match. Both of them made an unbroken partnership of 189 for the fourth wicket. Shakib played 99 balls in his innings and hit 16 boundaries while Liton Das hit eight boundaries and four sixes in his 69-ball knock.

Prior to this, the West Indies, losing 8 wickets in the 50 overs in the set, scored 321 runs. Most runs for the West Indies were scored by Shai Hope (96). He hit 4 fours and a six in his 121-ball innings.

Apart from them, Evin Lewis (70), Shimron Hetmyer (50), Jason Holder (33), Chris Gayle (0), Andre Russell (0), Nicolas Puran (25) and Darren Bravo contributed 19 runs. Oshane Thomas scored 6 runs and returned unbeaten pavilion. Mustafizur Rahman and Mohammad Saifuddin took three wickets each while Shakib Al Hasan took two wickets.

Read More:- India’s record win over Pakistan in World Cup 2019

Read More:-  World Cup 2019 schedule