Suresh Raina spearheaded CSK’s.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets on Sunday in the IPL 2019 on the sublime inning of Suresh Raina (58 not out). In the match played at the Eden Gardens Stadium in Kolkata, KKR presented a challenge of 162 runs.

In response, Chennai achieved this target in 19.4 overs at the loss of five wickets. This is the seventh win in Chennai’s eight matches and CSK top on the table with 14 points. Kolkata team has suffered a fourth loss in 8 matches and is second with eight points. This is the third successive defeat of Kolkata.

Raina has scored the most runs for Chennai. He hit seven fours and a six in his 42-ball knock. At the same, Ravindra Jadeja played an important inning of 31 not out in 17 balls with the help of 5 fours. Apart from this, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (16), Kedar Jadhav (20), Ambati Rayudu (5), Faf du Plessis (24) and Shane Watson contributed 6 runs. Sunil Narine and Piyush Chawla got two wickets each while Kolkata’s Harry Gurney got one wicket.

Earlier, Kolkata had lost 8 wickets in stipulated 20 overs while batting first after losing the toss and pitched a score of 161 runs. The highest run for Kolkata was made by Chris Lynn (82). Lynn hit 7 fours and 6 sixes in his innings of 51 balls.

Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine (2), who came to the start of the innings, shared 38 runs for the first wicket. The partnership was broken down by Michel Santner in the 5th over by dismissed Sunil Narine.

CSK took the important wicket of Lynn at 122 scores of Kolkata. Tahir bowled out them on the first ball of the 15th over. On the fifth ball of the same over, Tahir also made Andre Russell (10) a victim. After Lynn’s dismissal, Russell, who came to the crease, could not do anything special. He returned to the pavilion with a four and a six in just four balls. Russell has this lowest score so far this season.

The Kolkata team could only add 12 runs in the last three overs and during this time they lost Dinesh Karthik (18), Shubman Gill (15) and Kuldeep Yadav (0). Apart from this, Piyush Chawla remained unbeaten on 4 runs.  For Chennai, Imran Tahir took four wickets and Shardul Thakur two and Michel Santner made a wicket.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *