Kagiso Rabada takes 4 as Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 39 runs

Due to the spectacular performance of the bowlers, Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 39 runs in IPL 2019 on Sunday. In the match played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, Delhi presented a 155-run quartet. In reply, the Hyderabad team were stacked by 116 runs in 18.5 overs.

This is the fifth win in eight matches in Delhi and now it has reached number two in the IPL 2019 table with 10 points. Hyderabad had to face the fourth loss in seven matches and it is sixth. With this victory, Delhi has also taken revenge from Hyderabad.

Hyderabad started well. David Warner (51) and Johnny Bairstow (41), who came in to start the innings, added 72 runs for the first wicket. This partnership was broken by Kagiso Rabada in the 10th over by taking Jonny Bairstow’s wicket.

Kagiso Rabada made Warner his victim in 17 overs. Warner hit 3 fours and one six in his 47-ball innings. His wicket dropped to a total of 106. The team was faltered when Warner returned to the pavilion. After that, Hyderabad’s six batsmen returned pavilion by adding just 10 runs. Kagiso Rabada grabs four wickets for Delhi, Chris Morris and Keemo Paul took three-three wickets.

Earlier, Delhi lost the toss and batted first, losing 7 wickets in 20 overs,  offered a target of 156 runs to Hyderabad. Shreyas Iyer (45) scored the highest score for Delhi. He made 5 fours in his innings of 40 balls. Delhi started very poorly and they lost the opening wicket of Prithvi Shaw (4) and Shikhar Dhawan (7) within 20 runs. K Khaleel Ahmed who took charge of the Hyderabadi side bowled both batsmen to the pavilion.

After that, Iyer and Colin Munro (40) shared 49 runs for the third wicket. Monroe could not complete his half-century and became the victim of Abhishek Sharma in the 8th over. He was dismissed as the third batsman on the team score of 69. He hit four fours and three sixes in his 24-ball innings. After Munro’s return to the pavilion, Shreyas Iyer shared a 56-run partnership with Rishabh Pant (23) for the fourth wicket.

Delhi made only 25 runs in the last three overs. For Hyderabad, K Khaleel Ahmed took three wickets, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2, Abhishek Sharma and Rashid Khan got one wicket each for Hyderabad.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *