IPL 2019, Indian Premier League, Steve Smith, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai

In the 36th match of the 12th season of Indian Premier League (IPL) between Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan defeated Delhi by 5 wickets. Rajasthan got the target of 162 runs for the win and they completed it with the support of Steve Smith’s century who took the charge of captaincy first time in this season. 17-year-old Ryan Parag played a key role in the team’s victory by playing a glorious inning of 43 runs.

After chasing the target of 162 runs for Mumbai, Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson gave Rajasthan a good start. Rajasthan lost the first wicket in the form of Rahane in 3.4 overs. Rahane contributed 12 runs. After this, Sanju Samson put forward the innings with Steve Smith. Both of them reached the team’s score across 50 runs. But on the second ball of the eighth over, Samson gave a catch to Rahul Chahar. He played 35 off 19 balls.

Youngest batsman’s Riyan Parag of Rajasthan played a spectacular inning

17-year-old Riyan Parag, who came in to bat after the third wicket, shared a 70-run partnership with Steve Smith in 58 balls. Both teams reached the neck of victory but Parag was run out before completing the half-century.  In the end, Smith finally gave his team victory with a boundary.

For Mumbai, Quinton de Kock hit highest runs 65. He hit six fours and two sixes in his 47-ball knock. Mumbai was not good at the beginning but with the help of Suryakumar Yadav and Quinton de Kock, kept the innings ahead.

Both of them shared an important partnership of 97 runs for the second wicket. This partnership was broken by Stuart Binny in the 14th over. Suryakumar’s wicket dropped at team score 108. He hit 1 fours and a six in his innings of 33 balls.

Hardik Pandya scored 23 runs where he hit two fours and a six in his 15-ball innings. Shreyas Gopal got two wickets for Rajasthan while Stuart Binny, Joefra Archer, and Jaidev Unadkat picked up one wicket each.

Rajasthan has replaced Ajinkya Rahane by captaining Smith for the remaining matches of the season. Rajasthan had won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *