RR vs KKR, IPL 2021, 18th Match: –Maurice and Sanju gave the team a second win, Rajasthan beat Kolkata by 6 wickets

pic credit  twitter

In the 18th match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021, Rajasthan Royals defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 6 wickets. Batting first after losing the toss, Kolkata scored 133 runs at the loss of 9 wickets. Rahul Tripathi scored 36 and Dinesh Karthik scored 25 runs for the team. Chris Morris, bowling brilliantly, took 4 wickets for just 23 runs in his four overs. In reply, Rajasthan achieved the target of 134 runs in 18.5 overs thanks to captain Sanju Samson’s unbeaten 42-run inning. This is Rajasthan’s second win of the season, while KKR have suffered their fourth consecutive defeat.

Rajasthan’s inning

Chasing a target of 134 runs, Rajasthan did not have a good start and the team lost their first wicket in the fourth over as Jos Buttler (5). After this, Yashasvi Jaiswal, playing his first match in IPL 2021, became the victim of Shivam Mavi by scoring 22 runs. Captain Sanju Samson and Shivam Dubey (22) added 45 more for the third wicket to take the team to a stronger position. Dubey became the second victim of Varun Chakraborty. Rahul Tewatia was promoted above David Miller, but he could not do anything special and was dismissed for 5 runs. David Miller (24) and Samson did not let any more wickets fall of the team and won the match by 6 wickets.

Kolkata’s Inning

Earlier the poor performance of Kolkata batsmen continued in this match as well. Openers Shubman Gill (11) and Nitish Rana (22) started off quite slow. Shubman appeared to be struggling a lot during his inning and he returned to the pavilion after a runout. After this, Rana was also dismissed by the ball of Chetan Sakariya. Rahul Tripathi (36) made good shots from one end, but he did not get the support of the other batsmen. Sunil Narine (6), Andre Russell (9) could not do anything special.

Dinesh Karthik smashed 25 runs, but Pat Cummins (10) and Karthik were dismissed by Morris in a single over and broke KKR’s back. For Rajasthan, Chris Morris took four wickets for just 23 runs in 4 overs, while Chetan Sakariya and Jaydev Unadkat took one wicket each while bowling tightly.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *