Tag: indian cricket news updates


DC vs RCB: Delhi Capitals beat RCB to seal playoff berth after seven years

Delhi Capitals defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 16 runs on the Feroz Shah Kotla ground on Sunday. With this defeat, Virat Kohli’s RCB has been out of the playoffs of the IPL-12.

Delhi Capitals have entered the playoffs of IPL after seven years, thanks to the strong performance of the bowlers after Captain Shreyas Iyer (52) and Shikhar Dhawan (50).

Delhi Capitals captain Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to bat first. The hosts scored 187 runs losing 5 wickets in 20 overs in the stipulated 20 overs. In response, the RCB team could score 171 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. With this win, Delhi’s team has also reached the top spot in the points table.

RCB inning highlights

Chasing the target of 188 runs on the Feroz Shah Kotla ground, Parthiv Patel (39) and captain Virat Kohli gave a bang starting to team. Both of them added 63 runs in 5.5 overs.

Kagiso Rabada gave the first blow to the team by dismissing Patel. Soon after, Axar Patel gave Delhi a big success by dismissing RCB’s captain Virat Kohli.

Gurkeerat Singh Mann (27) and Marcus Stonis made the competition exciting by sharing a 49-run partnership for the sixth wicket. In the 19th over Ishant Sharma broke this partnership by dismissed Gurkeerat.

In the last over, RCB needed 26 runs to win, but could only make 10 runs. Kagiso Rabada and Amit Mishra took two wickets each from Delhi. Ishant Sharma, Axar Patel, and Sherfane Rutherford have each wicket.

Both the teams have so far played 22 matches in IPL. Of which Delhi won 7 matches, and Bangalore won 14, while there was no result in 1 match.


Kagiso Rabada takes 4 as Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 39 runs

Due to the spectacular performance of the bowlers, Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 39 runs in IPL 2019 on Sunday. In the match played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, Delhi presented a 155-run quartet. In reply, the Hyderabad team were stacked by 116 runs in 18.5 overs.

This is the fifth win in eight matches in Delhi and now it has reached number two in the IPL 2019 table with 10 points. Hyderabad had to face the fourth loss in seven matches and it is sixth. With this victory, Delhi has also taken revenge from Hyderabad.

Hyderabad started well. David Warner (51) and Johnny Bairstow (41), who came in to start the innings, added 72 runs for the first wicket. This partnership was broken by Kagiso Rabada in the 10th over by taking Jonny Bairstow’s wicket.

Kagiso Rabada made Warner his victim in 17 overs. Warner hit 3 fours and one six in his 47-ball innings. His wicket dropped to a total of 106. The team was faltered when Warner returned to the pavilion. After that, Hyderabad’s six batsmen returned pavilion by adding just 10 runs. Kagiso Rabada grabs four wickets for Delhi, Chris Morris and Keemo Paul took three-three wickets.

Earlier, Delhi lost the toss and batted first, losing 7 wickets in 20 overs,  offered a target of 156 runs to Hyderabad. Shreyas Iyer (45) scored the highest score for Delhi. He made 5 fours in his innings of 40 balls. Delhi started very poorly and they lost the opening wicket of Prithvi Shaw (4) and Shikhar Dhawan (7) within 20 runs. K Khaleel Ahmed who took charge of the Hyderabadi side bowled both batsmen to the pavilion.

After that, Iyer and Colin Munro (40) shared 49 runs for the third wicket. Monroe could not complete his half-century and became the victim of Abhishek Sharma in the 8th over. He was dismissed as the third batsman on the team score of 69. He hit four fours and three sixes in his 24-ball innings. After Munro’s return to the pavilion, Shreyas Iyer shared a 56-run partnership with Rishabh Pant (23) for the fourth wicket.

Delhi made only 25 runs in the last three overs. For Hyderabad, K Khaleel Ahmed took three wickets, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2, Abhishek Sharma and Rashid Khan got one wicket each for Hyderabad.


Suresh Raina spearheaded CSK’s.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets on Sunday in the IPL 2019 on the sublime inning of Suresh Raina (58 not out). In the match played at the Eden Gardens Stadium in Kolkata, KKR presented a challenge of 162 runs.

In response, Chennai achieved this target in 19.4 overs at the loss of five wickets. This is the seventh win in Chennai’s eight matches and CSK top on the table with 14 points. Kolkata team has suffered a fourth loss in 8 matches and is second with eight points. This is the third successive defeat of Kolkata.

Raina has scored the most runs for Chennai. He hit seven fours and a six in his 42-ball knock. At the same, Ravindra Jadeja played an important inning of 31 not out in 17 balls with the help of 5 fours. Apart from this, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (16), Kedar Jadhav (20), Ambati Rayudu (5), Faf du Plessis (24) and Shane Watson contributed 6 runs. Sunil Narine and Piyush Chawla got two wickets each while Kolkata’s Harry Gurney got one wicket.

Earlier, Kolkata had lost 8 wickets in stipulated 20 overs while batting first after losing the toss and pitched a score of 161 runs. The highest run for Kolkata was made by Chris Lynn (82). Lynn hit 7 fours and 6 sixes in his innings of 51 balls.

Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine (2), who came to the start of the innings, shared 38 runs for the first wicket. The partnership was broken down by Michel Santner in the 5th over by dismissed Sunil Narine.

CSK took the important wicket of Lynn at 122 scores of Kolkata. Tahir bowled out them on the first ball of the 15th over. On the fifth ball of the same over, Tahir also made Andre Russell (10) a victim. After Lynn’s dismissal, Russell, who came to the crease, could not do anything special. He returned to the pavilion with a four and a six in just four balls. Russell has this lowest score so far this season.

The Kolkata team could only add 12 runs in the last three overs and during this time they lost Dinesh Karthik (18), Shubman Gill (15) and Kuldeep Yadav (0). Apart from this, Piyush Chawla remained unbeaten on 4 runs.  For Chennai, Imran Tahir took four wickets and Shardul Thakur two and Michel Santner made a wicket.